top of page

Abel Prize 2022

Dennis P. Sullivan, a professor of mathematics at Stony Brook University and the City University of New York Graduate Center, is the winner of this year’s Abel Prize — the equivalent of a Nobel in mathematics.

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, the organization that administers the Abel, said Dr. Sullivan was honored “for his groundbreaking contributions to topology in its broadest sense, and in particular its algebraic, geometric and dynamical aspects.”

Topology is the study of space and shapes, and most of Dr. Sullivan’s work involves what mathematicians call manifolds — the higher-dimensional versions of two-dimensional surfaces. While that work is abstract, some of his recent research in fluid flows and turbulence could add to the understanding of the paths of hurricanes, the dispersions of air pollutants and the whorls of vortices behind airplane wings.

There is no Nobel Prize in mathematics, and for decades, the most prestigious awards in math were the Fields Medals, awarded in small batches every four years to the most accomplished mathematicians who are 40 or younger.

Explore his publications via Dennis' MathSciNet profile.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy Pi Day

Indian methods of finding the value and relation between the Circumference and diameter, starting with Vedic period to the methods given by Srinivasa Ramanujan is given in this article.This article di


bottom of page